Parallel Project

26/2/14 Looking back through my notebook, I found information about Arthur Wragg. He would be a good person to investigate; his images are very strong and illustrative, and he appeals because he is thinking about his subject matter and saying something to add to the thought.  He uses images to promote and bring out Christian thinking, which is an area I could do with strengthening.  “Propaganda” is the wrong word, but the study could take me into promotional work – I have quite a few notes from railway posters exhibition and a standing invitation to arrange a visit to the Acton Depot to see more work.

19/2/14 When I first looked at the outline for this course, way before enrolment, I immediately thought of Mary Cassatt, as I thought it would be an original choice, and enjoy the people and places and the mixture of patterns that she uses in her prints.  I was perturbed therefore to find her as the author of the first picture in the handbook – looks like I am just going for the first name that comes along! I have had a look at her biography and she is interesting because of the people who influenced her – Degas, Pissaro, Manet and the Japanese printmakers.  She makes very strong compositions, and she also appeals because of her painting.  It would be good to choose someone who uses both of the disciplines I am following myself.  Because of her, I need to check whether Degas would be a good artist to choose.

16/2/14 I looked at Paul Nash who is a favourite of mine, and his use of “elements”  for my Assignment 1 Project 1 and 2 planning.  I know he did a lot of critical writing and photography, but I don’t know that he was a printmaker.  I looked back at his “Elements” exhibition at Dulwich Picture Gallery and discovered that David Hockney has an exhibition in recognition of 60 years as a printmaker.  I have a ticket to go on 15th March.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.