What now? post Level 2

My student card for Printmaking 2 expires today.  By strange coincidence and the skin of my teeth, I have posted off my final Assignment.

It’s been a marathon.  When I started two years ago, I was a full time carer – my mother in law lived with us and I was respite carer for my mother with dementia.   For different reasons we have had to manage both mums into residential care, my mum has been moved up to Suffolk and is now seriously unwell, I am her only local carer/regular visitor, my brother’s marriage has split up, and mine is distinctly wobbly.  We are close to completion on selling mum’s house and buying another for my brother.  I have been trying to establish self-employed art-related work that pays, and seem to have ended up getting the voluntary experience but not the wherewithall to pay the rent!  Our son is abroad, and I have not seen him for the whole of the duration of the course!  Somehow in all this, I have got through the work! and remained reasonably sane.  My confidence as an artist has definitely grown.

So what now?  A short break – to finalise the selling of the house and finish the move.  Time with mum, which is running out.  Time reconnecting with the family, and a chance to paint and print the things I want.

An application form for Cliff College’s “Arts and Ministries” Course, and a conversation with OCA about exactly what is needed to complete level 3 as the courses seem to have changed since I first started my degree.  The three would work very well together I think, so I am seriously wondering whether  to use the next two years to focus on training and experience more than paid work and emerge in 2018 with a good set of qualifications to go with my brand new bus pass.  I will still have at least 6 years of employment ahead of me before retirement.

Leave a Reply

