DRAWING DIMENSIONS 2D/3D

I’ve been thinking more about Picasso, Braque, Cezanne and their skills in showing the Whole truth – all the dimensions of something in one go.  There is more truth in seeing every angle than the incomplete truth of one facet alone.  i made these sketches of Tallulah, and I like them because she was never still all the while I was drawing.  In the past I would have had several drawings on the go at the same time and worked on whichever one I could see.  I have a commission to do a portrait of some small boys and have been sent about 8 photos – all very different.  If I am working from photos I like to take a good series or perhaps 20 or more, and then draw an approximation of several pictures. It keeps it more alive.   So far my attempts have been a bit dead, but having done this work, I am now thinking that I will try to do some sketches from video clips I have of my own small nephews playing and then try and combine them with the clothes and features of these two boys I don’t know.

unnamed (7) unnamed (8)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.